Akani, Wayde Head Up Olympic Team as Sascoc Announce Financial Incentives

R400 000 on offer for a gold in Paris for Olympic hopefuls


In-form sprinter Akani Simbine and world 400m record holder Wayde van Niekerk were both included in the athletics squad to compete in the Paris Olympics in August.

In making the announcement the South African Sports Confederation, Olympic and Paralympic Committee (SASCOC) also revealed the financial incentives available to all medalists from both the Olympics and Paralympics. Athletes who win gold will be awarded R400 000, with the coach receiving R100 000. Silver medalists will earn R200 000 and R50 000, while the bronze medal payouts will be R75 000 and R25 000 for the athlete and coach, respectively.

Simbine has finished in the top 5 twice at the Rio (5th) and Tokyo (4th) Olympics and has shown great early season form winning the 100m at the Diamond League event in China in April, while Van Niekerk was the only South African to reach a final at the World Athletics championships in Budapest in 2023. His world record of 43.03 from Rio still stands.

The women’s athletics representatives include three in the marathon – Gerda Steyn, 15th in Tokyo 2020, who has since lowered the South African record to 2:24.30 and is widely considered the world’s finest ultra-marathoner, Cian Oldknow, and Irvette van Zyl, who is attending her third Olympics.

One gold medalist from the recent African Games in Ghana has also been included in the initial squad and will be making her first Olympic appearance – women’s 400m hurdles athlete Rogain Joseph.

The full athletics team is:

Men: Luxolo Adams (200m), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), Zakhiti Nene (400m), Lythe Pillay (400m), Benjamin Richardson (200m), Akani Simbine (100m), Tshepo Tshite (1500m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m), Jovan van Vuuren (long jump), Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m, 10000m)

Women: Marione Fourie (100mH), Zeney Geldenhuys (400mH), Rogail Joseph (400mH), Cian Oldknow (marathon), Prudence Sekgodiso (800m), Gerda Steyn (marathon), Irvette van Zyl (marathon)

READ MORE ON: olympics

Copyright © 2024 Hearst